LGBT Elder Health is next PNR Rendezvous topic

The next PNR Rendezvous webinar will be on the topic of LGBT elder health. LGBT individuals encompass all races and ethnicities, religions, and social classes. It is difficult to estimate the number of LGBT individuals and their health needs. [Healthy People 2020] While much of the media is focused on LGBT youth or transgender populations, LGBT elders also experience health disparities arising largely from societal stigma and institutional discrimination. This webinar is an overview of the health disparities experienced by LGBT elder populations. The webinar will look at the unique challenges related to accessing high-quality LGBT elder care information and some of the resources available to educate and address some of the disparities for the aging LGBT populations. Join us as we hear speakers Tony Nguyen, Access and Communications Coordinator for NN/LM SE/A and Patricia Devine, Outreach and Communications Coordinator for NN/LM PNR as they present LGBT Elder Population Health Awareness: Building collections and connections to improve health, safety, and well-being. When: Wednesday, November 16 at 1:00pm PT, Noon Alaska, 2:00pm MT How: No registration required. Go to https://nnlm.gov/pnr/training/PNRrendezvous.html OR  see below Please review prior to joining WebEx or if you are having trouble joining the webinar: https://help.webex.com/docs/DOC-5521 ——————————————————- To join the webinar ———————————————...
Source: Dragonfly - Category: Databases & Libraries Authors: Tags: Health Literacy/Consumer Health Training & Education Source Type: news