Prenatal diagnosis of mediastinal neurenteric cyst: a case report and review of the literature

We present a case of neurenteric cyst associated with vertebral anomalies diagnosed by prenatal ultrasonography at 31  weeks of gestation, which was treated successfully in the early neonatal period. In addition, we searched the English literature for all cases of mediastinal neurenteric cyst diagnosed in the prenatal period reported to date. We found that only 17 cases were reported previously. We reviewed the re ports of these 17 patients along with our case, and we investigated the prenatal and postnatal diagnosis and treatment approaches and the factors influencing the prognosis. Fetuses with mediastinal neurenteric cysts should be monitored regularly by ultrasonography. Fetuses with no signs of hydrops a re more likely to survive with proper neonatal center transfer, regular follow-up, and appropriate postnatal approach. Fetuses with hydrops findings have a high risk of fetal and neonatal death.
Source: Journal of Medical Ultrasonics - Category: Radiology Source Type: research

Related Links:

Publication date: Available online 27 February 2020Source: Mutation Research/Reviews in Mutation ResearchAuthor(s): Elzbieta Poręba, Julia Durzyńska
Source: Mutation Research Reviews in Mutation Research - Category: Genetics & Stem Cells Source Type: research
Publication date: June 2020Source: Molecular Genetics and Metabolism Reports, Volume 23Author(s): MarthaL. Solano, Alejandro Fainboim, Juan Politei, Gloria L. Porras-Hurtado, Ana Maria Martins, Carolina F. Moura Souza, Felipe Mendez Koch, Hernan Amartino, Jose Maria Satizábal, Dafne D.G. Horovitz, Paula F.V. Medeiros, Rachel S. Honjo, Charles M. Lourenço
Source: Molecular Genetics and Metabolism Reports - Category: Genetics & Stem Cells Source Type: research
Publication date: Available online 27 February 2020Source: Biochimica et Biophysica Acta (BBA) - Gene Regulatory MechanismsAuthor(s): Cristina S.D. Palma, Vinodh Kandavalli, Mohamed N.M. Bahrudeen, Marco Minoia, Vatsala Chauhan, Suchintak Dash, Andre S. Ribeiro
Source: Biochimica et Biophysica Acta (BBA) Gene Regulatory Mechanisms - Category: Genetics & Stem Cells Source Type: research
Publication date: Available online 27 February 2020Source: Biochimica et Biophysica Acta (BBA) - Gene Regulatory MechanismsAuthor(s): Kotb Abdelmohsen
Source: Biochimica et Biophysica Acta (BBA) Gene Regulatory Mechanisms - Category: Genetics & Stem Cells Source Type: research
Publication date: Available online 27 February 2020Source: Biochimica et Biophysica Acta (BBA) - Gene Regulatory MechanismsAuthor(s): Luzhang Ji, Xiangru Huo, Yuwen Zhang, Zixiang Yan, Qianfeng Wang, Bo Wen
Source: Biochimica et Biophysica Acta (BBA) Gene Regulatory Mechanisms - Category: Genetics & Stem Cells Source Type: research
Publication date: Available online 27 February 2020Source: Biochimica et Biophysica Acta (BBA) - Gene Regulatory MechanismsAuthor(s): Charly Jehanno, Tamara Fernandez-Calero, Denis Habauzit, Stephane Avner, Frederic Percevault, Emmanuelle Jullion, Pascale Le Goff, Marie May Coissieux, Simone Muenst, Monica Marin, Denis Michel, Raphaël Métivier, Gilles Flouriot
Source: Biochimica et Biophysica Acta (BBA) Gene Regulatory Mechanisms - Category: Genetics & Stem Cells Source Type: research
Three medical stories that we didn't cover, explained.Medscape
Source: Medscape Internal Medicine Headlines - Category: Internal Medicine Tags: Family Medicine/Primary Care Article Source Type: news
Publication date: June 2020Source: Safety Science, Volume 126Author(s): Niklas Grabbe, Anna Kellnberger, Beyza Aydin, Klaus Bengler
Source: Safety Science - Category: Occupational Health Source Type: research
Publication date: June 2020Source: Safety Science, Volume 126Author(s): Milad Haghani, Majid Sarvi, Zahra Shahhoseini
Source: Safety Science - Category: Occupational Health Source Type: research
ConclusionsLower urinary tract complaints are a common problem. We believe that routine medical screening should be performed for female university students whose living conditions change when they start university; besides, we suggest that well ‐attended and repeatable training programs for healthy living behaviors, urinary habits, and hygiene should be organized for university students.
Source: LUTS: Lower Urinary Tract Symptoms - Category: Urology & Nephrology Authors: Tags: ORIGINAL ARTICLE Source Type: research
More News: Perinatology & Neonatology | Radiology